{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

chinainvestor August 15, 2010 at 8:32 am

sounds like a scam

NetAdvisor August 15, 2010 at 8:51 am

What is mtatrade.com?

http://www.ntatrade.com is not a broker dealer.

Ameritrade.com then?

$5000 may be their minimum to open a trading account. If that is all you have I would not advise trading.

As to have leverage to $100k with 5k investment, this certainly is not a standard equity margin account. A standard margin would be $10k or 2x the cash deposit. A pattern day trader may be eligible for 4x margin but with restriction and subject to the firms approval.

http://www.sec.gov/answers/daytrading.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pattern_day_trader

This sounds more like a futures account. If that is the case, and $5K is all you have, get out!

If the market moves against you (and prob will), you will be subject to end of day settlement and thus margin calls.

http://www.eurexchange.com/clearing/risk/risk_based_margining_en.html

If you don’t have the money the account will be closed and you are liable for the money. They can sue you and you could be prosecuted for fraud. Because you would have to lie on your application in order to get approved for a futures account. The app will ask question as to your financial net worth, income, trading experience, etc. These numbers need to be stellar to meet regulatory compliance to have this kind of account. If a broker is willing to let you have the account anyway, he/she is violating regulatory Rule SEC 405 – “Know Your Customer”

http://www.investorwords.com/4343/Rule_405.html

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post:

http://www.maxprofitsinvest.com